Languages

Andrey Bobylo

My name is Andrey Bobylo. In 2006 I was graduated from Far-Eastern National Technical University, department of International relations. I’ve been working as Director of foreign affairs department in FENTU since 2006. In 2008 I was finalist of Russia International Education Administrators Fulbright program (RIEA 2008) and now I’d like to share my experience with you.

Uniqueness

In the beginning there are several words about the program itself. First of all, I’d like to note that this program for International Education Administrators is rather unique by its nature, because there are no any professional trainings for specialists of like that in Russia and at present time all the policy in this field is generally defined as conducting in Russia a few seminars for several times a year, which are aimed the experience exchange.
According to the fact that in recent years there is a great interest to international education all over the world, the brand new RIEA Fulbright program gives a brilliant prospective for experience exchange and growth of specialists’ professional skills.

Meeting America

It recently seemed that you were worried about the last preparations before your departure and long way to America, but you finally left the plane, performing the flight Moscow-New-York and set your foot in America’s land. All your relatives, friends and familiar Russia were left far away, the another world, new people with their cultural values and three months of upcoming practical training are in front of you.
It is generally accepted to speak about the “culture shock” between the Americans, the period of adaptation to new conditions, when the person feels himself or herself alone and another culture is seemed to be antagonistic for this person. This period is different in its forms and continuance for every person. As for me, I didn’t feel any discomfort, because I often go abroad and have already acquired “cosmopolite stereotype”. The most important thing in this situation is to remember that Americans are the same people like we, very friendly and hospitable. The first days of your staying in the USA you should devote to getting the acquaintance with culture and traditions of Americans and their country.

Columbia University, New-York

I think that each of RIEA participants keeps great impressions about that day when they got ID of Columbia University. It meant that you became a part in one of the most prestigious centers of international education.
It’s rather difficult to be a student again, attend the classes and make the home assignment, but the best way to know about challenges of international students is to become an international student.
The classes in Teachers College are based on the principles of discussion and during all the class students regularly discuss various situations, ask the questions, share their own experience with teacher. It’s important because as a result of positive dialogue all the information becomes more comprehensible. Different articles and issues are offered for students’ self-preparation. All the classes are taught by professional and good qualified staff.
The second part of studying process is connected with visiting the Universities campuses in New-York and on the neighborhood. During these two months of staying in New-York we visited about 20 universities in New-York, New Jersey, Washington D.C. It’s also very important, because there is an opportunity to compare, establish new contacts, share the experience.

Seminars in the Institute of International Education (IIE).

Once a week you have to visit Institute of International Education (IIE), where you will discuss week events, tell about your impressions, coоrdinate your working plans for future. The main purpose of these arrangements is coordination and control of your working schedule, which is planned by IIE for your convenience. It contains the information about all the events, time and places you need to visit. Also IIE is responsible for another items such as: medical insurance, registration, financial and logistic expenses, participation in the conferences and others.

Кansas.

After IIE selection on the last month of the program I went to
University of Kansas (KU), Lawrence, where I worked at the Office of international programs. Lawrence is a small student town, its population is about 80 thousands people, the majority of who are students or teaching staff of KU.
In comparison with New-York, which never sleeps and its impulsive rhythm of life, Kansas life is rather calm and quiet.
On the evenings the Americans usually watch TV or go to different cafeterias, a great part of which are in Downtown. Also almost all the population is great fan of basketball, because it was Lawrence where the person who invented and developed this kind of sport lived.
Almost everybody is a fan of University team КU Jayhawks, awarded the title of National champion 2008. When I came to KU it was a hot season, because all the final games of National basketball championship were played that time and I also became KU Jayhawks fan.
During this month which I spend at KU, I got acquaintance with many interesting people, dealing with international education, visited different departments of international services, which are responsible for different directions (accommodation of international students, study abroad center, classes of international students, visa and registration, safety) not only at KU, but also at the Universities on the neighborhood in Kansas City, Linkoln (Nebraska). Together with KU administration and Department of foreign affairs we signed Agreement of cooperation between our universities, which gives good opportunities for joint activity.

Returning to Russia.

But three months of the practicum have passed insensibly and quickly and it was time to return to Russia. Before the departure all the group met together in New-York for three days to share the acquired experience to each other in IIE.
It is likely possible to speak a lot about American system of education and peculiarities of every university. As for me, what I‘ve acquired for myself there in the USA is undoubtedly brilliant experience, because I didn’t only learn the newest and contemporary approaches to international education, but also during this time I got acquaintance with many interesting people, professional specialists, met new friends among the colleagues from Russia and the USA. And this is very important, because all the relations are usually based on personal contacts of people, who make international policy of university, that is to say such people as we are. I’d like to recommend to all specialists who dealing with international activity in Russian universities to take part in RIEA Fulbright program.

The Fulbright Program in Russia. Institute of International Education.
Tverskoy Bul'var 14, building 1, 4th floor, Moscow, Russia 125009.
Tel: +7(495) 935-8353, Fax: +7(495) 937-5418. Contact: info@fulbright.ru

Languages

Андрей Бобыло

Меня зовут Андрей Бобыло. В 2006 г. окончил Дальневосточный Государственный Технический Университет (ДВПИ им. В.В. Куйбышева) по специальности «Международные отношения». Работаю в должности начальника отдела международных связей при ДВГТУ с 2006 г. В 2008 г. я принимал участие в программе Фулбрайта для сотрудников международных отделов российских вузов (RIEA 2008) и хотел бы поделиться своим опытом.

Уникальность.

В начале несколько слов о самой программе. Прежде всего, хочу отметить, что данная программа для администраторов в области международного образования уникальна по своей природе, поскольку в России практически отсутствует какая-либо профессиональная подготовка специалистов подобного рода и все что сегодня делается в этом направлении, в основном сводится лишь к организации немногочисленных семинаров несколько раз в год в масштабах страны с целью обмена накопленным опытом.
Учитывая тот факт, что в последние годы во всем мире резко возрос интерес к международному образованию, новая программа Фулбрайт для сотрудников международных отделов российских вузов открывает огромные перспективы в плане обмена опытом и повышения профессионального мастерства специалистов в этой области.

Знакомство с Америкой.

Казалось, еще совсем недавно вы были полностью погружены в заботы о последних приготовлениях перед отъездом и долгой дорогой, но вот вы покинули самолет, выполняющий рейс по маршруту Москва – Нью-Йорк и ступили на американскую землю. Вдали остались родные, друзья и знакомая Россия, впереди – другой мир, новые люди с их культурными ценностями и три месяца предстоящей стажировки.
Среди американцев принято говорить о «культурном шоке», т.е. времени адаптации к новым условиям когда человек чувствует себя одиноким, а другая культура кажется ему враждебной. У каждого этот период проходит по-разному и отличается по продолжительности. Лично я не испытывал особого дискомфорта в Америке, поскольку довольно часто бываю за границей и у меня уже сложился «стереотип космополита». Самое главное в этой ситуации помнить, что американцы такие же как и мы люди, очень дружелюбные и открытые. А первое время необходимо посвятить знакомству с культурой и традициями американцев и их страны.

Колумбийский университет, Нью-Йорк

Думаю, что у всех участников программы RIEA остались яркие впечатления от того дня, когда им был выдан ID Колумбийского университета. Это значит, что с этого момента вы стали частью одного из самых известнейших центров международного образования.
Нелегко заставить себя снова сесть за парту, посещать занятия и выполнять домашние задания, но лучший способ узнать о проблемах иностранных студентов - это стать иностранным студентом.
Уроки в Teachers College построены в виде дискуссий и на протяжении всего занятия студенты постоянно обсуждают с преподавателем различные ситуации, задают вопросы, делятся собственным опытом. Это важно, поскольку в результате конструктивного диалога получается более тщательное усвоение материала. Для самостоятельной работы предлагаются различные статьи и публикации. Все занятия проводятся опытными и квалифицированными преподавателями.
Вторая часть обучения связана с посещением кампусов соседних университетов в Нью-Йорке и за его пределами. За два месяца пребывания в Нью-Йорке мы посетили порядка 20 университетов в самом Нью-Йорке, Нью-Джерси, Вашингтоне (округ Коламбия). Это также весьма важно, поскольку есть возможность сравнивать, устанавливать новые контакты, делиться опытом.

Семинары в Институте международного образования (IIE).

Один раз в неделю по пятницам вам предстоит посещать Институт международного образования (IIE), где вы будете обсуждать события недели, рассказывать о своих впечатлениях, строить планы дальнейших действий. Целью данных мероприятий является координация и контроль учебного расписания, которое составлено сотрудниками IIE для вашего удобства. В нем содержится информация обо всех мероприятиях, времени и местах, которые вам предстоит посещать. Также сотрудники IIE ответственны за решение любых других вопросов таких как: медицинская страховка, регистрация, финансовые и транспортные вопросы, участие в конференциях и другие.

Канзас.

После распределения на последнем месяце стажировки я оказался в University of Kansas (KU), г. Лоуренс, где работал в отделе международных программ. Лоуренс - небольшой студенческий городок с населением около 80 тысяч человек, большинство из которых студенты или сотрудники университета. По сравнению с Нью-Йорком (which never sleeps) и его бешенным ритмом жизни, жизнь здесь тихая и спокойная. Вечера американцы в основном проводят у телевизоров или в многочисленных кафе, имеющихся в большом количестве в Даунтаун. А еще все жители города страстные болельщики баскетбола, поскольку именно в этом городе жил человек, который придумал этот вид спорта и внес большой вклад в его развитие. Все болеют за местную университетскую команду КU Jayhawks, завоевавшую титул национального чемпиона 2008 г. Я приехал в Канзас как раз в разгар финальных матчей и сам тут же превратился в болельщика.
За этот месяц, который я провел в KU, я познакомился со многими людьми, занимающимися международным образованием, посетил различные отделы международных служб, отвечающие за различные направления (общежитие иностранных студентов, центр обучения за рубежом, уроки иностранных студентов, виза и регистрация, безопасность) не только в KU, но также в соседних университетах в Канзас-Сити, Линкольне (Штат Небраска). Вместе с руководством KU мы подготовили Договор о сотрудничестве между нашими университетами, который открывает хорошие возможности для совместной работы.

Возвращение в Россию.

Но вот незаметно и быстро пролетели три месяца и настало время возвращаться на Родину. Перед самым отъездом вся группа собралась в Нью-Йорке на три дня, чтобы в последний раз поделиться приобретенным опытом в IIE. Наверное, много можно говорить об американской системе образования и специфике каждого университета. Что касается меня, то что я вынес для себя бесспорно можно считать бесценным опытом, поскольку я не только узнал новейшие и современные подходы к международному образованию и систему его управления, но также за это время познакомился с многими интересными людьми, высококлассными специалистами, завел новых друзей среди российских и американских коллег. А это очень важно, поскольку все отношения строятся на личных контактах людей, которые делают международную политику вуза, т.е таких как мы. Хочу порекомендовать всем специалистам, работающих в международных отделах российских университетов принять участие в программе RIEA Fulbright.

Программа Фулбрайта в Российской Федерации. Институт Международного Образования.
Россия, 125009, Москва, Тверской бульвар, дом 14, строение 1, 4й этаж
Тел: +7 (495) 935-8353, Факс: +7 (495) 937-5418
e-mail: info@fulbright.ru